Who’s Who at KCM


The Reverend Atalie Gaines


Licensed Lay Minister:

David Thomson

Professor David Thomson qualified as an Optometrist in 1980 and following a brief spell working in Portsmouth he enrolled for a Phd to study the effects of viewing computer screens on the eyes. He was awarded a Phd in 1985 and following a three year period as a post-doctorate student investigating visual function in patients with brain damage, he was appointed to the academic staff in the Department of Optometry and Visual Science at City University.

He was awarded a chair in 2002 and served as Head of Department and Associate Dean. After nearly 30 years in post he decided to leave the University to pursue various other interests including developing software for vision testing and screening. He now runs three small software businesses based in Welham Green but still lectures widely in the UK and overseas.

He has been a member of KCM church since 1988 and a regular member of the music group. He studied to become a Licensed Lay Minister with the ERMC and was licensed in 2015.  He is married (to Penny Thomson) and has five grown up children.

In what little spare time he has, he is to be found at Brookmans Park Golf Club!




David Thomson

Communion Assistants:

Robert Burt, Gary Dakin, Ann Davy, Jean Emmans, Philip Emmans, Judith Reeve, Peter Sansom, David Thomson, Phil Townsend – who have all been given permission by the Bishop to assist in this important ministry at the Church for a three year period until Advent 2017.

Church Wardens:

Philip Emmans

Robert Burt


Simon Worley (Director of Music)

John Davy (Music Group)


Elected to serve until April 2018

  • Steve Jones (Hon Treasurer)
  • Emma Kidd
  • David Simpson
  • Sue Warren

Elected to serve until April 2019

  • Lynn Jones (Halls Administrator)
  • Judith Reeve (Standing Committee rep)
  • Maureen Townsend (Electoral Roll Officer)
  • Janet Turner

Elected to serve until April 2020

  • Jean Burt
  • Sue Loader (Hon Secretary)
  • Helen Schmitz (Parish Safeguarding Officer)
  • Phil Townsend (PCC Vice Chair)

Minute Secretary: Nicola Thrussell (Church Administrator)


(Ex-officio on PCC):

  • Robert Burt
  • Terry Newton
  • Vacancy

READER: David Thomson

VICAR: The Reverend Atalie Gaines (Chairperson)